List of Topics

SfC Home > Business > ISO 9000 > TQM >

 

Feedback Q&A on TQM

by Ron Kurtus

Readers have sent in a total of 211 comments and questions on TQM issues. They are listed according to date.

You can read them to further your understanding of the subject.


List of next 10 letters

Topic

Title

Country

Complaints Looking for customer satisfaction form for hotels Russia
 
General Is TQM only for big company? Viet Nam
 
General I want to study TQM in Canada Canada
 
Complaints Explain about rectifying complaints Kuwait
 
General Seeking a Ph.D. in TQM India
 
Principles TQM in the future India
 
Complaints How realistic are methods to deal with complaints? Viet Nam
 
Complaints How to handle an irate customer? VietNam
 
General What is the impact of TQM in production systems? India
 
General Questions on 4 strategies in TQM Pakistan
 

Next 10

 




First 10 letters


Looking for customer satisfaction form for hotels

Topic: Complaints

Question

June 20, 2010

I would like to ask you send me an example of Customer Satisfaction form for hotels. My name is Gala Talaeva, I am from Russia. I have a friend who works as an administrator in an hotel and she would like to improve her work by using some of instruments which help her to satisfy clients of her hotel.

Thank you in advance.

Gala - Russia

19936

Answer

Look at the following websites for information and examples of customer satisfaction material for hotels.

How to design a customer satisfaction form:
http://www.ehow.com/how_5726940_design-customer-satisfaction-surveys.html

Obtaining customer feedback:
http://www.nkarten.com/feedbk.html

Hotel Customer Satisfaction Survey:
http://www.busreslab.com/consult/hotel.htm

Swans Hotel - Customer Survey:
http://www.swanshotel.com/hotel/customer_survey.php

Back to top


Is TQM only for big company?

Topic: General

Question

June 8, 2010

hi. I'm from viet nam. I have a question about TQM. Is TQM only for big company. And why ?Hope I will have an answer soon. Because I have an exam about it in 7 hours. Thank a lot.

nguyen le - Viet Nam

19863

Answer

TQM principles can even apply to an individual, where you continually improve, satisfy your customer, and get quality from your suppliers. On a larger scale, TQM uses statistics to effectively measure improvements. But even for a small company, those measurements are possible.

Back to top


I want to study TQM in Canada

Topic: General

Question

June 5, 2010

I want to study TQM in Canada. Can you help me and give me address of any university studying this specialization

Thank you

tark - Canada

19843

Answer

TQM is not being taught much anymore. Instead, a variation of it, called Six-Sigma, is being taught in more colleges.

For TQM, see: http://www.askedu.net/course/c_49352_Total_Quality_Management.htm

For a list of Six-Sigma and TQM, see: http://en.askedu.net/Canada/Six_Sigma_1.htm

I hope this helps.

Back to top


Explain about rectifying complaints

Topic: Complaints

Question

May 24, 2010

Hello :D
Can you help me, please :( ?

Complaints are powerful things. In one page, explain what this means. In your answer describe:
" How complaints affect an organisation
" Why it is important to communicate with customers appropriately
" Why it is important to document complaints and negotiate and outcome so the customer is happy

Dalal - Kuwait

19783

Answer

Often customers do not complain to the business. Instead they complain to friends and tell them not to buy at the business.

If a customer voices a complaint to the business and they do not satisfy the complaint, the customer will probably not come back or buy their products. Not only that, an unsatisfied customer will usually tell up to 10 friends about the bad experience with the company. This means much loss in customers.

If the business listens and satisfies the complaint, often the customer will return to buy more and will even tell friends about it.

It is important for a company to document complaints, so that they will rectify the situation and improve their processes so that they get no more complaints on that issue.

One of the biggest reasons for complaints concerns rude or uncaring sales people.

Back to top


Seeking a Ph.D. in TQM

Topic: General

Question

May 19, 2010

Dear Sir,

I did my MSc in TQM, i want to do PhD in TQM, Is there any institutions for the same. Some foreign universities are offering, but are too costly, is there any low fees university.

Regards,

Padmanabha - India

19747

Answer

Much depends on what you want to do with your degree. With a Ph.D., you probably would be looking at teaching in a college or university. However, if you want to get in industry, having a Masters degree in TQM is a very good start. Note that if you are a valuable worker in a company, you will often help pay your tuition to get an advanced degree.

It is worth checking with companies to see what they have available in TQM, as well as to check in some professional organizations, specializing in quality issues. Whether or not you seek your Ph.D., it is good to find out what is happening in the "real world" that will allow you to advance your career.

Sorry, I don't have information on universities offering degrees in TQM.

Back to top


TQM in the future

Topic: Principles

Question

April 15, 2010

tqm in today past future

sarojkumar - India

19546

Answer

A major problems concerning TQM is that some companies change the principles to suit their own need or to try to be different. A good example is the Six-Sigma program, which is very similar to TQM, but has a different name.

Satisfying the customer and improving the quality of goods and services will always be needed in business. Companies that do not improve will fall by the wayside.

Back to top


How realistic are methods to deal with complaints?

Topic: Complaints

Question

April 10, 2010

TIPS Dealing with customers and their complains
1. allow angry customers to express their feelings without interrupting them.
2. try not to take their complains and xriticisms personally.
3. never argue with a customer.
4. look or sound concerned. show that you are listening.
5. sympathize without accepting liability.
7. never show your irritation or lose your temper.
QUESTIONS
1. how realistic do you think they are?
2. how possible is it follow them at all times?

Hanh - Viet Nam

19526

Answer

The TIPS are instructions from the company on how to effectively handle customer complaints. The customer service representative must learn to use psychology in dealing with customers who are angry or who have complaints. It is a very important service for the company and requires skill in dealing with people.

The customer service representative is there to help the customer resolve issues. But sometimes the simply needs to "blow off steam" or express his anger. Just as a psychologist will listen to a patient's problems and sympathize with the person, you must do the same thing. It is not personal. They may be angry at the company, so if the person seems angry at you, you can try to defuse the anger.

However, sometimes it is difficult to hold your temper if the complainer starts to make personal insults. Also, it can be tiring to listen to complaints all day long. But realize that you are doing the company and the customer a service in helping resolve the issue.

Back to top


How to handle an irate customer?

Topic: Complaints

Question

April 9, 2010

How realistic do you think about dealing with customers and their complains? How possible is it to follow them at all times?

I have a case that the women went on a flight to Moscow for a business trip. The plane was four hours delayed, her luggage was lost, and there was no food available on the flight. She feel the company should refund her the price of the ticket and apologize for their poor service. She is in no mood to compromise.

If you are a call handler: you want to be friendly and helpful. you can give the customer a free upgrade to business class on their next flight but you cannot offer any refund. Your company does not want to apologize because the lost baggage was the airport's fault, not your company's.

How will you persuade as possible as?

Thank you so much.

Hanh - VietNam

19522

Answer

The most important thing is that the customer is allowed to complain and that the call handler is sympathetic and indicates a willingness to rectify the situation. Often, the customer will feel better and calm down if she feels the call handler is on her side.

As far as the woman who had a bad flight to Moscow goes, you can apologize for the company that the flight was delayed and explain it was due to conditions out of the company's control (like weather, etc.) If she insists on getting a refund, tell her you will ask your manager if that is possible (i.e. you are on her side). After a short time on hold, tell her it is against company policy, but you were able to arrange for her to get a free upgrade.

If she still is unreasonable, there is nothing you can do about it. Most people understand that planes are often delayed for various reasons.

As far as the lost luggage goes, you can sympathize and explain that it was a problem at the airport. then give her a number at the airport to call.

It is a difficult job handling customer complaints. In most cases, if they see you are trying to help, the person will calm down. However, there are a few people who are either unreasonable or are simply trying to get something for nothing. If your company loses such a customer, it probably is for the best.

I hope these ideas helped and best wishes in your job.

Back to top


What is the impact of TQM in production systems?

Topic: General

Question

March 25, 2010

what is the impact of TQM in our production system and operation?

Abhay - India

19432

Answer

Implementing TQM will help to reduce losses due to waste and help with customer and supplier relations. However, it is good to also apply ISO 9000 standards, so that your operations are run properly and that everything required is well-documented.

For information on ISO 9000, see:
http://www.school-for-champions.com/iso9000.htm

Back to top


Questions on 4 strategies in TQM

Topic: General

Question

March 19, 2010

Respected Sir(s),

My question is please send me about the following 4 strategies in TQM respectively.

1. Repair
2. Refinement
3. Renovation
4. Reinvention

regards,

Issrar - Pakistan

19395

Answer

Each one of those items are ways to improve a product or the way it is made. It is part of the continuous process improvement aspect of TQM. However, each of them is a wide ranging subject and cannot be explained in a few sentences.

Back to top

Next 10


Summary

Hopefully, this reader feedback has helped provide information about TQM issues.


Always do your best


Resources and references

Ron Kurtus' Credentials

Websites

TQM Resources

Books

Top-rated books on TQM


Questions and comments

Do you have any questions, comments, or opinions on this subject? If so, send an email with your feedback. I will try to get back to you as soon as possible.

Feel free to establish a link from your website to pages in this site.


Where are you now?

School for Champions

TQM topics

Feedback Q&A on TQM




TQM topics

Basic principles

Satisfy customer

Get good work and supplies

Reduce waste and failures

Applications

Presentations and reports

Also see







Live Your Life as a Champion:

Take care of your health

Seek knowledge and gain skills

Do excellent work

Be valuable to others

Have utmost character

Be a Champion!



The School for Champions helps you become the type of person who can be called a Champion.